

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

Executive Council

STATE HOUSE ROOM 207
CONCORD, NEW HAMPSHIRE 03301

(603) 271-3632 FAX: 271-3633



Executive Councilor Janet Stevens (603) 498-0546 Janet.L.Stevens@nh.gov FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 28, 2023

EXECUTIVE COUNCILOR JANET STEVENS ANNOUNCES HEARING SCHEDULE DISTRICT THREE MAJOR TRANSPORTATION/INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECTS FIRST HEARING DATE THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 7, 2023, IN SALEM

Concord, NH --Executive Councilor for District Three Janet Stevens of Rye, who also serves as a member of the Governor's Advisory Commission on Intermodal Transportation (GACIT), has unveiled the hearing schedule for District Three. This schedule pertains to the proposals and suggestions for the upcoming Ten-Year Transportation Improvement Plan (TYP) spanning from 2025 to 2034. GACIT, consisting of the Commissioner of the Department of Transportation and the five Executive Councilors, is responsible for the biennial revision of New Hampshire's Ten-Year Transportation Improvement Plan.

"The discussions about the 2025-2034 Ten Year Transportation Improvement Plan took place during a hearing on Wednesday, August 23, 2023, following the formal Executive Council meeting," highlighted Councilor Stevens. "I invite all District Three residents who care about transportation infrastructure in any form to get involved in these hearings. You can participate in person, through written submissions, or even via telephone (during the September 13th hearing). It's a chance to express concerns and show support or opposition for the proposed district plan," according to Councilor Stevens.

"We've got some exciting additions proposed for the 2025-2034 plan," Councilor Stevens continued. "This includes six municipal bridge projects in Newton, South Hampton, Salem, Brentwood, Chester, and Portsmouth, all in Red List status. The 1B Causeway that connects New Castle and Portsmouth has been added to the Ten-Year Plan with a budget of \$8.2 million dollars. Additionally, construction of the Seawall in North Hampton and Rye has been added, underlining our commitment to coastal resilience. It's worth noting that Regional Planning Commissions have submitted their recommendations for the 2025-2034 Ten-Year Plan," Councilor Stevens emphasized.

The current meeting schedule:

September 7 th	7 p.m.	Salem High School (TV Studio) – 44 Geremonty Drive, Salem
September 13 th	7 p.m.	Kingston Town Hall – 163 Main St., Kingston
October 12 th	7 p.m.	Seabrook Community Ctr. – 311 Lafayette Road, Seabrook
October 19 th	7 p.m.	Greenland Central School – 70 Post Rd., Greenland
October 24 th	7 p.m.	Hampstead Town Hall – 11 Main St., Hampstead

Additional information on the Ten Year be found at the New Hampshire Department of Transportation Ten Year Transportation Improvement Plan 2025-2032

###

Executive Councilor Janet Stevens of Rye represents the 266,000 residents living in District Three, which encompasses the cities and towns of - Atkinson, Brentwood, Chester, Danville, Derry, E. Kingston, Epping, Exeter, Fremont, Greenland, Hampstead, Hampton, Hampton Falls, Kensington, Kingston, New Castle, Newfields, Newington, Newmarket, Newton, No. Hampton, Pelham, Plaistow, Raymond, Rye, Salem, Sandown, Seabrook, So Hampton, Stratham, Windham and the City of Portsmouth.

TDD Access: Relay NH: 1-800-735-2964